EFL Trophy Draw today – for EFL sides

Town will learn two their EFL Trophy opponents this afternoon, with the identity of the academy side becoming known when the full draw for the group stage is made on Friday 12th July at 12.30pm. 

Town will be entering the competition for the first time, with the draw taking place live on talkSPORT.

The 64 clubs who have entered next season’s EFL Trophy will be divided into 16 groups of four, with eight northern groups and eight southern groups.

Town will play one EFL team at home, one away and the U21 team at home. The first round of fixtures is scheduled to take place in the week commencing September 2. 

The group stage of the competition is heavily regionalised, raising the prospect of games against Colchester, Cambridge, Peterborough or Southend, but the placement of the category one academy teams is not based on geography.

The 16 clubs whose U21s will be in the competition this season are Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton & Hove Albion, Chelsea, Everton, Fulham, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, West Ham United, Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Town will not be drawn against Norwich City’s U21s as ‘high-profile clashes’ are not permitted at this stage of the competition.

Subscribe to our TOTT newsletter to ensure you keep up to date on all things related to Ipswich Town